The shareholders of the European Investment Bank are the 28 Member States of the European Union.

The EU Member States are fully eligible for Bank financing operations, without any geographical or sectoral quotas being applied.

Each Member State’s share in the Bank’s capital is based on its economic weight within the European Union (expressed in GDP) at the time of its accession.

Under its Statute, the Bank is authorised to have maximum loans outstanding equivalent to two and a half times its capital.

At 1 July 2013, the Bank’s subscribed capital amounted to more than EUR 243bn.

Breakdown of the EIB's capital

Copyright © European Investment Bank 2016
The European Investment Bank is not responsible for the content of external internet sites.